For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Connect & Sync Your Salesforce Orgs

The Deployment screen is best viewed when the zoom setting is set to 80% on your Chrome/Firefox browser.

Note: To improve application performance and stability, ARM allows a maximum of two Org Sync jobs to run concurrently. Any additional Org Sync requests, whether initiated manually or through a schedule, are automatically queued and will start when one of the active jobs is completed. The queued status is displayed in the ARM UI.

About Salesforce Org Synchronization

Salesforce Org synchronization allows teams to compare and align metadata between a source and a target Salesforce org to maintain consistency across environments. It identifies metadata differences and enables users to reconcile them efficiently.

Example: If a hotfix is implemented directly in Production after a deployment, discrepancies may arise between Production and Sandbox. Org Synchronization helps detect these differences and allows teams to update the source org accordingly, ensuring both environments remain aligned.

This option is useful when:

  • Changes are made directly in Production.

  • Multiple teams work across parallel environments.

  • There is a need to prevent configuration drift.

  • Deployments fail due to unexpected metadata differences.

  • Preparing environments before a major release.

How can I connect and sync metadata between two Salesforce orgs?

To perform org synchronization, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your ARM account.

  2. Click on the Deployment tile on the left side of the screen.

  3. Go to the Org Synchronization History tab.

  4. Click on the Get Org Differences call-to-action button.

  5. In the Org Differences dialog box, you will need to:

    • Give the process a Name.

    • Select your Source Org and Destination Org.

    • Select the Exclude Baseline Managed Package Changes checkbox if you do not wish to include baseline Managed Package changes during org sync.

    • Select the Generate Member Differences checkbox to view the metadata member's differences between two Salesforce orgs based on file/data-level comparison.

    • Specify the Batch size for Profile Components and the Batch size for other Components to retrieve records. So, the default size for the profile is 500, and for other components is 2,000. You can modify it as per your requirement. The bulk retrieve option helps run large jobs that exceed normal processing limits – you can deploy up to 10,000 files at once or a maximum size of 14MB. Using batch size, you can process records in batches to stay within platform limits. If you have a lot of records, processing records through batches is the best option.

    To go to the next screen, click the Get Differences button. The next screen may take some time, depending on the number of components in your org.

  6. On the next screen, you can:

    • View the metadata list included in both source and target orgs.

    • Add or delete metadata components to/from the target org.

    • View the metadata member's difference report (if any).

  1. Once done with your selection, click on Synchronize Orgs.

  2. On the next screen, check the Validate Deployment checkbox to verify whether the synchronization process will be successful or fail. This is optional.

  3. Select the Apex Test Level to validate your deployment. For detailed information on each Apex test level, refer to the article: Run Apex Tests Before Deployment.

  1. Click on Deploy.

  2. You'll be taken to the Track Deployment History page, where the current synchronization progress can be seen.

More information on the Org Synchronization Summary page

Synchronization summary information, such as label name, source org, destination org, etc., can be seen on the Org Synchronization History page. Additional options are available, such as View Info, Schedule, Delete, Download PDF Report, and Download CSV Report, by clicking the three dot (...) menu corresponding to a particular job on the Org Synchronization Summary Page.

  1. Info: Click the icon to view the detailed synchronization report.

  2. Delete: Click on the icon to delete a sync process. A confirmation message is displayed asking whether you want to delete the label. This process cannot be undone.

  3. Schedule: Click the icon to set up when you want to carry out the org synchronization process. On the scheduled date and time, the org synchronization process runs automatically, and voila, you have a repeating schedule.

  4. Run: Click the icon to rerun the org synchronization process.

  5. Status:Status of the synchronization process, i.e., successful or failed.

    • Log Report: Click on the icon under the Status column to view the log report for the sync process.

  6. Report:There are two options in this column.

    • Click on the icon to view the metadata components difference report between the source and the target org.

    • Click on the icon to download the Diff report in your local system (in PDF or CSV format).

Last updated

Was this helpful?