Managing Users and Roles
Creating users and roles allows you to manage who can access AutoRABIT Vault™. You can also create different roles that restrict or allow access to certain functionalities. For example, you might have a member of your team who only needs to look at scheduling backup operations for a sandbox but should never be able to perform a Restore operation.
Note: You need Administrator privileges to manage a user account.
Creating and Editing Roles
You must assign at least one role to each user, with specific role permissions granted to each role. If a user has multiple roles, the role with the greatest permissions trumps any others assigned.
Note: You need Administrator privileges to create or update a role.
To create or edit a role:
Log in to your AutoRABIT Vault™ account.
Go to the Manage Users module.
Go to the Roles tab and click Add Role.

Enter a Name and Description for the role.
On the Permissions section, select checkboxes for each permission you want users with this role to have.
Click Add Role.

The newly created role will be displayed on the Manage Users' home page. Note:
The account with the Admin role has the maximum permissions possible and cannot be edited or renamed.
The permissions you select determine which dashboard controls are in the user's console and what settings the user can manage.
You can also update or delete a role by clicking on the Edit and Delete icon on the Manage Users screen.

Creating Users
You can create a new user with just a few clicks. It’s as simple as entering the first name, middle, and last name, an email, and selecting a role, Salesforce Orgs (if required), and designation. After you invite users, they receive a confirmation email with a link to create their login password.
Note: You need Administrator Privileges to add user accounts.
Go to the Manage Users module and click on the Users tab.
Click Add User.

On the Add User wizard:
Enter the user's First, Middle, and Last Name and Email Address.
Select the appropriate role from the drop-down list.
The Salesforce Orgs field will be displayed only if the Enable Org Access Control toggle is turned on (in the Manage Users screen). In this dropdown, you must choose the Salesforce Orgs you want your user to access. The user will then be allowed to access only those Salesforce Orgs authorized for them. Based on the Salesforce Org access, users can carry out AutoRABIT Vault™ operations in their Salesforce Org, such as backup, restore, replicate, compare, archival, etc.
Enter the user's designation and add a short description to the user account. These fields are optional.
Click Add User.

The user will receive an email inviting them to select a password and log in. Newly created users are updated on the Manage User homepage. Note:
The account with the Admin role has the maximum roles and permissions possible and cannot be edited or renamed. By default, the roles will be displayed as All, which means the admin has all of the privileges inside AutoRABIT Vault.
The logged-in administrator details are non-editable and therefore will be in disabled mode.
The permissions you select determine which dashboard controls are in the user's console and what settings the user can manage.
The account verification link emailed to new users expires after 7 days. Users who do not click the account verification link need an Admin to resend the account verification link to their email address.
Users must change their password the first time they log in.
The newly added users will be able to view their authorized Salesforce Orgs on the Salesforce Org List (Setup) and in the Manage Users section.
The Org Administrator will have access to all existing orgs or newly added orgs in AutoRABIT Vault™.
Any sub-user who registers a new org will have full access to it, as well as Admin.
Editing Users
After you’ve created a user, you can change most of their information and permissions. While you can't edit the Email Address associated with a user, you can change the remaining fields.
Note: You need Administrator Privileges to manage user accounts.
Go to the Manage Users > Users tab. Look for the user data that needs to be changed. You can view the complete user information using the Info icon.
Click the Edit icon to the right of the user.


Make any desired changes and click Save.
View the user's details when you click on the User Information (
) icon.

Note:
By default, all existing sub-users have access to all of the Salesforce Orgs registered. However, the Org Administrator can redefine their sub-users' access to the Salesforce Orgs on the Manage Users screen.
The logged-in administrator's details are disabled and cannot be edited.

Suspending Users
You can suspend users if you have Manage Users permissions or Administrator privileges. Suspended users can be reactivated later when required.
Log in to your AutoRABIT Vault™ account.
Go to the Manage Users > Users tab.
Locate the user whose info you would like to change on the list.
Activate or deactivate a user account temporarily by sliding the Activate icon to either the right or left side.

Click on the Email icon to resend email activation to a user email id.
Download User Information
The Manage Users module opens with the USERS tab selected. AutoRABIT Vault displays the available user records in a table with columns for Name, Email, Created Date, Type, Activate, MFA, Roles, and Actions.
The Search field supports narrowing the visible records. The Columns control manages the columns displayed in the table. The pagination controls show the number of records available in the current view.
When org-level access control is enabled, the Enable org access control toggle appears in the enabled state. This setting controls whether org access can be managed at the user level.

Export Users
The EXPORT USERS action is available from the USERS tab. Selecting EXPORT USERS starts the export process for the user records available from the Manage Users view.
After the export is triggered, the button changes to EXPORTING... and becomes inactive while AutoRABIT Vault processes the request. This prevents duplicate export requests from being submitted during the same operation.
Once the export process completes, AutoRABIT Vault provides the generated user export file through the browser download behavior configured for the application session.

Last updated
Was this helpful?

