Users, Roles and Permissions
  • 04 Aug 2022
  • 5 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light

Users, Roles and Permissions

  • Dark
    Light

Types of Users in ARM

Super Administrator: The Super Administrator (or Super Admin) is the person who has the highest permissions of all the admins. This role can create other admins, assign or remove permissions, and perform all other admin activities. Deciding who and how many users you assign as super admin users requires significant consideration because they have the highest level of access and are able to make changes that affect the entire network.

Super admin permissions are required for:

  1. Creating other admins
  2. Installing and configuring agents
  3. Adding users to admin groups

Org Administrators: Org Administrators (or Admin) are users with permission to access the AutoRABIT administration dashboard. The Admin can assign more than one role to an individual admin if their job requires them to perform actions that span multiple roles. You can share the responsibility of managing your AutoRABIT account by assigning administrator roles to other users. 

As an administrator for your organization, you can see a list of all the roles and privileges assigned to your users. This information can help you to quickly determine a user's level of access to your organization's account.

General Users: General users have access to the ARM application based on the permission assigned by their Org Administrator. They are not allowed to access the Administration dashboard.

Create a New User Account

To create a new user account:

  1. Log in to your ARM account. 
  2. Hover your mouse over the ADMIN tab and click on the USERS.
  3. On the right side of the page, click on the ADD USER.
  4. Fill in the User Details and configure the Role Permissions.
  5. Click SAVE & ACTIVATE to active the users or SAVE NOW & ACTIVATE LATER to save the user details. They can be activated later from this page.
  6. Your colleague will receive an email inviting them to set their password and log in.
  7. Newly created users are updated in the USERS tab under the ADMIN page.

Edit a User Account

After you’ve created a user, you can change most of their information and permissions. While you can't edit the Username and Email associated with a user, you can change the remaining fields. 

  1. Log in to your ARM account. 
  2. Go to the USERS tab. Locate the user to whom you would like to make changes.
  3. Click on the Edit icon.
  4. Make any desired changes and click on SAVE.

Delete or Suspend a User's Account

If you have user management permissions, you can suspend or delete users. Suspended users can be reactivated; deleted users are permanently removed. 

  1. Sign in using an administrator account.
  2. Click and go to the USERS tab. Locate the user you'd like to make changes to.
  3. Click on DELETE USER to delete the user account permanently.
  4. You can also temporarily block a user's access to your organization's services by suspending their account. Select the user and click on ACTIVATE/DE-ACTIVATE button.
  5. Click OK to confirm your selection.

Enforce single sign-on (SSO)

You can enable an option to enforce SSO for members of your team. This will make it mandatory for all team members to log in via SSO.

To enforce SSO, you need to enable the SSO login configuration. Go to the My Account page and under the SSO Configuration, select the "Disable login with AutoRABIT credentials" checkbox. Click Save. Your team members will now be enforced to log in via SSO only. Even if SSO is enforced, you, as an org administrator, will be able to log in using either standard authentication (username/password) or SSO.

How to override single sign-on (SSO)?
If you being an org admin wants to override the SSO configuration for an individual team member or group of users, you simply uncheck the Enforce SSO boxes after selecting the team members from the list.
Note: When the "Disable login with AutoRABIT credentials" option is selected, the Enforce SSO checkboxes are automatically checked for all users. 

Export Users

If you have Admin permissions you can export a CSV file of all the users currently in your account. The CSV export will contain the following user information:

  • First name (FIRST NAME)
  • Last name (LAST NAME)
  • User status- active or deactivate (STATUS)
  • Email address (EMAIL)
  • Login name (LOGIN NAME)
  • Assigned role (ROLE)
  • Job title (JOB TITLE)
  • Last login date (LAST LOGIN DATE)
  • The user account created date (CREATED DATE)
  • The user who created the account (CREATED BY)
  • User account last modified date (LAST MODIFIED DATE)
  • The user who modified the user account recently (LAST MODIFIED BY)
  • User deactivated date (if applicable) (DEACTIVATED DATE)
  • The user who deactivated the user account (DEACTIVATED BY)

To export users:

  1. On the USERS screen, in the upper right, click EXPORT ALL USERS
  2. Your export will begin to process and the CSV file will get downloaded on your local system.
Export Data Limitations:
The parameters in the CSV for previously registered users (older than 60 days) will be slightly different:
  • CreatedDate= OrgCreatedDate
  • CreatedByName = registered user of the org
  • LastModifiedDate, LastModifiedByName, Deactivated Date, and Deactivate by fields will be null
The exported CSV file will contain the newest parameter data and changes for newly registered users, as expected.

Creating and Editing Roles

You must assign at least one role to each user, with specific role permissions granted to each role. If a user has multiple roles, the role with the greatest permissions trumps any others assigned. 

  1. Hover your mouse over the ADMIN tab and click on the ROLES option.
  2. Click on the CREATE ROLE button.

  3. On the next screen, enter a name and description for the role. On the Permissions tab, checkboxes to select each permission you want users with this role to have.
  4. Click SAVE.
Important Note:
  • The Admin has the maximum permissions possible and cannot be edited or renamed.
  • The permissions you select determine which dashboard controls are in the Admin console and what settings the user can manage.

User Permission

The User Permission section summarizes the set of permissions assigned to the user and allows them to view the type of access they have along with the actions they can perform in AutoRABIT. For example, users with the View Setup and Configuration permission can view Setup pages, and users with the API Enabled permission can access any Salesforce API.

To relate users to a role and permission, use the following steps: 

  1. From the AutoRABIT home page, click and go to the PERMISSIONS tab. 
  2. From the user's list view, select at least two users you like to assign permissions.
  3. Click BULK ASSIGNMENT.
    Important Note:
    The user(s) with the Admin role is not displayed on the Permission page.
  4. On the next screen, select the roles to be assigned and select the module(s) you would like to add to these users.
  5. Click SAVE
  6. You can click the user's name to open the user's record in detail view from the User Permission page.

Was this article helpful?

What's Next